Golf as we knew it took a big hit Saturday. A man who signed an incorrect scorecard yet still was allowed by Masters rules officials to keep playing is tied for seventh, four strokes from the lead after three rounds of the Masters. That man, of course, is Tiger Woods.
Tiger made an illegal drop. Not on purpose, by accident. And it wasn’t caught until hours later when a fan watching from home phoned it in. The Masters then assessed the situation and deemed Tiger deserved a two stroke penalty, after Tiger had signed his scorecard. Now many are calling for Tiger to withdraw, as players are supposed to be disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.
Because Mr. Woods, being the incredibly athlete he is, is expected to be psychic; he should have known that the rules officials would give him a penalty hours after he was due to sign his card.